“Fantastico” Chicken Tikkas

That is how Indira described the taste of the chicken tikkas we had for lunch today.

Ever since I started to try my hand at different tikka recipes some weeks ago, I have been very glad to see that the girls  really love to eat chicken cooked in this form.

Even so  I was surprised by their protests when, in response to Indira’s question last week asking me  if I was going to buy chicken and what kind, as I was leaving for the supermarket for my weekly food shopping last week, I said yes but that maybe this time I’d bring cuts suited to a curry, for a change. Chicken curry and rice has always been such a favored meal for them that I was surprised to see they wanted to eat tikkas yet another time, though it is has been ages since I made chicken curry of any kind.

Well, I must say I am happy to indulge this current preference , since making tikkas is so much easier and quicker than cooking a typical curry.

This is the recipe for the ones I made for lunch today. Noor liked them so much she wanted me to keep the leftover portion for this evening’s gouter, but I told her that might be too early for her stomach for another round of chicken. So they are both looking forward to dinner now 🙂

Chicken Tikkas

300 gms of boneless chicken, cut in to 1 inch pieces

75 ml of yoghurt

1/2 a small onion, grated

1 tsp of ginger paste, or grated ginger

2 small pods of garlic, grated

1/2 tsp of red chilli powder (or a little more, if you like)

3/4 tsp of coriander powder

salt to taste

sunflower oil or butter to baste

Whisk the yoghurt and mix in the onion, the ginger and garlic, the two spices, and the salt. Turn the chicken pieces in this marinade so that they are covered thoroughly in it, then leave in the refrigerator for about 12-24 hours.

Take the chicken out and leave it at room temperature for 10 minutes before grilling.

Pre-heat the grill, for 7-8 minutes, to 24odegreesC . In the meanwhile, take the chicken pieces out, shaking off any excess marinade and put them on skewers, leaving a little space between the pieces. Grill at the top of the oven till well cooked, turning over each skewer at least once and basting all the pieces with a little oil/butter when you turn the skewers.

Squeeze lime juice on to the tikkas before eating.  Sliced onions go well with them too, if you have a taste for these.

These simple tikkas are pretty versatile – they are great finger food and so make an excellent starter; they can be used as fillers for a roti wrap, tossed with a little lime juice flavored salad;  or one could serve them with a salad as a first course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Starters and Snacks, Versatile Accompaniments

Leave a Reply

