Their favorite Cake – Chocolate and Date Loaf

As I put together the ingredients, earlier today, for the cake that I took as dessert to the home of friends that we ate with this evening, I realized that this is the third time this month that I am baking the same cake. I made it for Indira’s birthday when we invited all our family friends to a picnic, and it is the one that I sent to school too, for her class.

But this is the cake that she and Noor love best, of all the various recipes I have tried over the years.

This recipe makes a large-ish cake (12- 16 quite big pieces) so tonight it was very gratifying to see it go quite quickly though we were only 5 adults, Indira, Noor, and our hosts’ 14 year old son 🙂

Chocolate and Date Loaf:

2 eggs

3/4 cup melted butter ( I use a cup that is a 200 ml measure)

1 cup sugar

2 cups of wheat (whole or refined) flour

1/2 cup of cocoa

1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of baking soda

1 cup of soft dates,finely chopped

1 cup of boiling water

1 tsp of baking soda

1 and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence

Combine the last 4 ingredients in a bowl and set aside to cool.

Best the first three ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

Mix the remaining ingredients in another bowl.

Add the date mixture after it has cooled down to the eggs,butter and sugar mixture. Now stir in the rest of the ingredients, and pour in to a cake tin (if it is not the non-stick variety then of course the tin will need a light coat of melted butter and then a sprinkling of flour over that).

Bake at 180 degrees C for 50-60 minutes till a knitting needle/table knife comes out clean.

This cake goes really well with some creme anglaise or vanilla ice cream served on the side . It makes quite a fancy dessert at parties 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Cakes and Muffins, Desserts, Picnic Food, Starters and Snacks

6 responses to “Their favorite Cake – Chocolate and Date Loaf

  1. Malini

    Hi Chandna,

    This cake sounds yummy – I am sure my girls will love it. Any ideas on how to make it eggless?

    Thanks.
    -Malini

  2. chandna

    Hi Malini,

    thanks for visiting me here 🙂

    well, I’ll be honest and say I have never given serious thought to eggless cakes.

    Well I guess it is time I tried to find out how to do this.

    Will let you know if I can figure out how to make this w/o eggs 🙂

  3. priti

    Hi,
    I tried this cake this weekend and it was yum yum yummy…I celebrated with a friend our 40th b’day-she and I are a day apart
    What I liked about it was it not being too sweet-most of the choc. cakes I’ve made are very sweet.
    I chopped the dates in the food processor- how big should the pieces be ?- I did not taste any dates in the cake altho I was attracted to this recipe coz of the unique combo. Is this how it’s supposed to be or should I be tasting the dates and chewing them too- I did not even see them 😦
    Is the cake supposed to be moist ? It was not too dry , not too moist for me- I wish you were here to take a look 🙂

  4. Hi Priti,

    it sounds like you got is just right. it is what I like too, that this cake is not too sweet, like a lot of other chocolate cakes.

    I chop the dates by hand (each sliced lengthwise in to 3 slivers and then each sliver in to three bits) coz it seems too much work to then wash the chopper which I imagine would get quite sticky, no?

    I do tend to detect some of taste of the dates, though they definitely don’t stay chewy. And no, one can’t really see them at all.

    The cake should be soft, but neither moist, nor too dry. Like I said, I do believe you have got it just right 🙂

    and oh hey I forgot to say , belated Happy Birthday, welcome to the right side of life! As an aunt of mine put it (who is not much older than me and my relationship with her sort of reminds me of yours with your chachi) when I hit 40 this august – she said ” so far you’ve been learning to live life, now you’ll really live it”. I sort of took heart from that 🙂

  5. priti

    About the stickiness of the food processor- When boiling water for the dates I boiled some extra and then ran the chopper with the hot water (after removing the dates) so all the sticky bits came out easily. Patience is not my virtue so altho I started handchopping I thought it was a time consuming task…

  6. now there’s a piece of smart thinking !!

    no patience is not a virtue i can claim either so i’ll remember to try this the next time, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

